The NEBOSH National Diploma in Health and Safety

Since it was first introduced at the end of the 1980’s the NEBOSH National Diploma has become established as the most popular and highly respected qualifications among Health and Safety professionals. NEBOSH (National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health) covers many different levels of attainment sectors such as construction, and specialist area subjects such as fire hazards. The diploma is the highest qualification a student can acquire at this level and is a natural progression from such awards as the NEBOSH National General Certificate. The course has been specifically designed to provide students with the expertise required to undertake a career as practitioners and also provides a sound basis for progression to postgraduate study. diploma of work health and safety

Is the qualification professionally recognised?

Yes it is. The course not only provides fundamental knowledge at the core for the profession but the award allows the student to take further qualifications and further their career. For instance it wholly meets academic requirements to apply for either Graduate Membership of the Institution of Occupational health and Safety or the MIIRSM (International Institute of Risk and Safety Management). The former also places the student on the first rung to becoming a Chartered Practitioner as a Chartered Member of IOSH (CMIOSH). As well as being a sound progression to the MSc level like all students who acquire a diploma they have the opportunity to place symbols after their names to show it has been awarded. Recipients of the NEBOSH National Diploma would use the designatory letters: DipNEBOSH.

Entry requirements and framework There are no formal requirements for this qualification but it should be kept in mind that the award is accredited at level 6 of the National qualification framework and achievement to this level will be very beneficial and is highly recommended. All modules and learning within the course are transferable across all industries, commerce and the public sector and focuses especially on how understanding of policies and processes are applied. The 4 units within the qualification are:

  • Managing health and safety
  • Hazardous agents in the workplace
  • Workplace and work equipment safety
  • Application of health and safety theory and practice


It is important to note that individual units can be taken over a period of 5 years as they are all assessed separately.


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *